The Village Giving Circle at Texas Women's Foundation

About Us

Organized in 2017, the mission of The Village Giving Circle at Texas Women’s Foundation is to honor, sustain and expand the legacy of African American women’s philanthropy by funding organizations and initiatives that positively impact the African-American community in North Texas. The Village was borne out of a desire to harness the collective giving power and influence of African-American women philanthropists, and in recognition of the need to provide opportunities for like-minded African American women to form connections that enhance their civic leadership activities.

Members focus their collective resources on local community organizations that are led by African Americans and/or serve the needs of African-American communities throughout North Texas. In addition to providing financial support to selected organizations, The Village membership seeks to elevate awareness of issues, initiatives, and efforts that affect or support African-Americans living and working in North Texas.

“If you want to go fast, go alone.  If you want to go far, go together.” – African proverb

The Founding Officers are:

A. Shonn Brown, Chair
Lisa Montgomery, Co-Chair
Cheryl Alston
Christa Brown-Sanford
Annika Cail
Vera Ingram
Diane Reeves
Frances Cudjoe-Waters
Shawn Wills

“If you want to go fast, go alone.  If you want to go far, go together.” – African proverb


Joining or contributing to The Village at Texas Women’s Foundation affords members the opportunity to support and further a legacy of African-American women’s philanthropy that sets an empowering example for other community members and for future generations of African-American leaders. Rather than making “one-off” individual gifts to community organizations, The Village Giving Circle empowers its members to combine their resources and award large, high-impact, strategically-selected grants to organizations and initiatives benefiting African-Americans.

To learn more about joining The Village, please email

Executive Team

Sheri Crosby Wheeler, Executive Co-Chair and Membership Management & Engagement Chair
Rhonda Williams, Executive Co-Chair and Development & Strategy Chair
Aliah Henry, Communications & PR Chair
Cheryl Bass, Finance Chair
Christa Brown Sanford, Legal Chair
Lisa Montgomery, Immediate Past Executive Chair


(listing as of September 2022)

Tammi Abney
Terri L. Anderson
Cheryl Bass
Angela Berry-Roberson *
Vicki D. Blanton *
Jarie Bradley
A. Shonn Brown **
Tara Buckner *
Candace D. Campbell
Andrea Carter *
Katherine Crooms
Maviea Easter
Janiece Evans-Page *
Arlene J. Ford *
Bradena Fowler
Lisa Gardner
Gwen George
Jill Lacy Green
Virginia Hall
Kesha Harris Henderson *
Aliah Henry
Rita Parson Hightower *
Tiffaney Dale Hunter
Vera Ingram **
Donna James-Harvey *
Debra Hunter Johnson *
Rosylin T. Johnson *
Fallyn Jones
Dionne Kirby
Ena Williams Koschel *
Karen Langford
Whitney Fogle Lewis *
Jill Louis *
Sara Madsen Miller *
Cynt Marshall
Monica McCray *
Leticia McGowan *
Marlo Headlam Melucci *
Lisa Montgomery **
Adrienne Mosley

Tracey Nash-Huntley *
Kristi Nelson *
Jennifer Parnell
Wendy Parnell
Sonya Pegues
Courtney Perez
Natalie Minter Plumlee *
Diane Reeves **
Gloria Werthing Reynolds
Carolyn Riley
Kenya Rodgers
Lauren Rodgers
Sha’ Roehm *
Sandra P. Rogers
Angela Ross *
Renee Sample
DeMetris Sampson
Christa Brown Sanford **
Thalia Shirley
Julia A. Simon *
DeEdra Smiter
Carmen Smith
Neisha Strambler-Butler *
Cordelia Tullous
Kimberly King Webb
Sheri Crosby Wheeler *
Kim T. Whitaker
Elizabeth White
Wendy Wilkerson *
Christy Williams
Kimberly Williams
Rhonda Williams
Cheryl Polote Williamson
Shawn Wills **
Shannon Kelly Woods *
Libby Saylor Wright
Jasmine Wynton

*denotes Founding Members

** denotes Founding Officers


The Village seeks funding proposals from organizations or programs serving the African-American community in Dallas, Denton, Collin or Tarrant County. The Village also considers proposals from organizations or programs led by an African-American. Organizations may apply to The Village Giving Circle by invite-only.

The Village Grants History