Via: PaperCity
By: Merrit Stahle

Where: Omni Dallas Hotel
PC Moment: Honoring exceptional women, the Maura Women Helping Women and Young Leader Awards recognized this year’s powerful recipients at the Omni Dallas Hotel. The Dallas Women’s Foundation believes in the power of women and has invested more than $32 million towards changing the world for women and girls. Each honoree has displayed true leadership in the Dallas community.
The Maura Awards were presented to four tenacious recipients. Dr. Hind Jarrah was honored for her influence in the Muslim community. Madeline McClure was celebrated for her unwavering effort to help children and families. The Honorable Tonya Parker was recognized for her dedication to helping women pursue careers as elected officials. Sheriff Lupe Valdez was honored for her leadership in law enforcement.
The 2017 Young Leader Award honored Cynthia Nwaubani for creating opportunities for greater investment in female entrepreneurs. Now, that’s a roll call of strong female leaders.
Girl Power: Dallas Women’s Foundation president and chief executive officer, Roslyn Dawson Thompson; co-chairs Cheryl Alston and Laura V. Estrada; Dallas Women’s Foundation board chair, Ellenore Knight Baker; keynote speaker Carla Harris; past honorees, Maura McNiel, Vivian Castleberry, Ginny Whitehill, The Honorable Eddie Bernice Johnson, and The Honorable Adlene Harrison.