Via: Paper City
By: Caroline Hogan
What: Dallas Women’s Foundation Leadership Forum and Awards Dinner
Where: Omni Hotel Dallas
PC Moment: The Golden Globes, Oscars, and Grammys may have passed, but that didn’t stop excitement from building around this year’s Dallas Women’s Foundation Leadership Forum and Awards Dinner. A cast of difference-making characters showed up to partake in the celebrations, including Nina Tassler, author, mother and philanthropist extraordinaire, who spoke to a slew of topics — from failure to working moms to her personal life story.
A grand total of six women were honored; four received the Maura Women Helping Women Award, while two got the Young Leader Award. Brenda L. Jackson, co-chair and a member of the award selection committee, introduced the Maura Award and its recipients – Arcilia AcostaDr. Jocelyn KiddCynthia Mickens Ross and Gail Turner.
“The award was established in 1978 to recognize those who have made extraordinary contributions to the success and well-being of women and girls…,” Jackson said. “Among the recipients are women and men who have blazed trails and made strides in various fields – from company executives and community volunteers, to those serving on corporate boards, in Congress, and even in the White House.”
The Young Leader Award is given to women under 40 who are bending the rules to empower and encourage women to step up in leadership roles. Caren Lock, Dallas Women’s Foundation Board chairwoman and selection committee co-chair, as well as Stephanie Jeffery, vice president of diversity and inclusion at Capital, presented the award to Dr. Vanessa Bouché and Brooke López.
Who: Thear Sy Suzuki and Cheryl Mayo WilliamsJeff & Jessica WaughKirk & Ellenore BakerAshlee Kleinert and Ray & Nancy Ann HuntRachel KutzJennifer FitzmauriceJennifer Asplund, and Exa WhitemanNeena Newberryand Zeenat SidiJennifer BiryTracy Merzi, and Holly ReedGail Griswold and Mirjam KirkLaura EstradaCecilia McKay, Dallas County District Attorney Faith Johnson, and Cynthia Gonzalez.  Honoree Gail & Dr. Gerald TurnerShawn WillsRegina Montoya, State Representative Helen Giddings, and Ann Margolin. Pat & Pete Schenkel, and Caren ProthroRoslyn Dawson ThompsonNina Tassler, and A. Shonn BrownBrenda L. Jackson and honoree Arcilia C. Acosta.